Howlin’ Wolf – Wolf Tracks: A Tribute to Howlin’ Wolf

Wolf Tracks: A Tribute to Howlin' Wolf

発売日: 1998年5月26日
レーベル: Telarc
アーティスト: Howlin' Wolf

Howlin' Wolf may be gone, but his spirit lives on, as this 13-track tribute album featuring members of the Wolf's own band attests. Sam Lay, Eddie Shaw, Hubert Sumlin, and the rest are as tight and smooth as they ever were playing behind Howlin' Wolf, and they've got an array of guest stars to do the Wolf proud. Taj Mahal (sounding a good bit like Wolf himself) is here, as are guitar-slinger Debbie Davies and multi-instrumentalist Kenny Neal. Lucinda Williams does a bluesy turn, and there are contributions from Lucky Peterson, James Cotton, and more. The CD features plenty of Wolf favorites, including "Saddle My Pony," "Howlin' for My Darling," "The Red Rooster," "Howlin' Wolf Boogie," and "Smokestack Lightnin'," among others. All in all, it's a fitting tribute to a man whose contribution to the blues is immeasurable. --Genevieve Williams
  1. Saddle My Pony
  2. Howlin' For My Darling
  3. The Red Rooster
  4. Just Like I Treat You
  5. Built For Comfort
  6. Ooh Baby (Hold Me)
  7. Riding In The Moonlight
  8. Back Door Man
  9. Baby How Long
  10. Killing Floor
  11. Howlin' Wolf Boogie
  12. Smokestack Lightnin'
  13. Come To Me Baby