Ricky Skaggs – Skaggs & Rice

Skaggs & Rice

発売日: 1993年10月8日
レーベル: Sugarhill
アーティスト: Ricky Skaggs

Though these two musicians had blazed many trails by 1980, Ricky Skaggs and Tony Rice never lost their passion for traditional bluegrass and old-time country. This heartwarming collection, featuring classic bluegrass tunes and traditional folk songs done in the close-harmony duet style, still stands as a high-water mark for both men. By the time they'd joined forces in 1980, mandolinist Skaggs had gone through a tenure with Ralph Stanley's traditional Clinch Mountain Boys, retired at age 19, returned as part of J.D. Crowe's groundbreaking New South, graduated to his own Boone Creek, and done a tour of duty in Emmylou Harris's Hot Band. Rice, meanwhile, established himself as one of the most remarkable acoustic-guitar pickers of his generation through stints with Crowe's band as well as jazz-inflected "newgrass" endeavors with David Grisman and his own Tony Rice Unit. Here, these two forward-thinkers look backward to the 1930s and the heyday of the brother duets. Their harmonies shine and soar--an incredibly moving a cappella "Talk About Suffering" stands out--and Rice even sneaks in some masterful hot licks along the way. It remains a milestone in country music. --Marc Greilsamer
  1. Bury Me Beneath The Weeping Willow
  2. Mansions For Me
  3. There's More Pretty Girls Than One
  4. Memories Of Mother And Dad
  5. Where The Soul Of Man Never Dies
  6. Talk About Suffering
  7. Will The Roses Bloom
  8. Tennessee Blues
  9. The Old Crossroads
  10. Have You Someone In Heaven Awaiting