Furry Lewis – Shake Em on Down

Shake Em on Down

発売日: 1995年3月20日
レーベル: Fantasy
アーティスト: Furry Lewis

The pride of Memphis country blues, Furry Lewis had a diverse repertoire that included a variety of Southern musical styles: folk songs, country music, Delta blues, and jug band among them. After recording noteworthy sides in the late-1920s, Lewis toiled as a Memphis street cleaner until the revivalist movement of the early-1960s. These 20 cuts from 1961 display a more-spirited approach than his early work. The intervening years added character to his vocals while his biting slide-guitar work includes at various times forceful rhythms, expressive wails, and supple finger picking. In his later years, Lewis had an entertainer's perspective, infusing his work with style, enthusiasm, and a compelling narrative quality. --Marc Greilsamer
  1. John Henry
  2. When My Baby Left Me
  3. Shake 'Em On Down
  4. Big Chief Blues
  5. Old Blue
  6. I'm Going To Brownsville
  7. Back On My Feet Again
  8. White Lightnin'
  9. Roberta
  10. St. Louis Blues
  11. Baby You Don't Want Me
  12. Done Changed My Mind
  13. Goin' To Kansas City
  14. Judge Boushay Blues
  15. Casey Jones
  16. This Time Tomorrow
  17. I Will Turn Your Money Green
  18. Frankie and Johnnie
  19. Longing Blues
  20. Long Tall Gal Blues